An Introduction to The New Mastersounds, Vol. 2 by The New Mastersounds - One Note Records [ONRLEGO042] FLAC download included with physical items

An Introduction to The New Mastersounds, Vol. 2

A 16 track funk album (1h 5m 22s) — released February 11th 2019 on One Note Records

It's been in the making for some time ... here it is: Volume 2 of "An Introduction To The New Mastersounds".

The heavy touring, ultra tight and unbelievably funky international four piece has been busy releasing fresh music since the release of Volume 1 in 2006. This album provides what we think anybody who is discovering the NMS space should not miss from the recent output, as well as as some nuggets and rarities from the band's vast back catalogue.

The history of The New Mastersounds starts in the late 1990s. Guitarist and producer Eddie Roberts was running a club night in Leeds called "The Cooker." Here the original version of NMS was called into life, already featuring drummer Simon Allen and bass player Pete Shand. With Joe Tatton on board now as organ player they released on labels like Freestyle and Record Kicks, are running their own One Note Records and played with an impressive array of musicians DJs and producers ranging from Lou Donaldson (Blue Note) to Corinne Bailey Rae (EMI), from Keb Darge & Kenny Dope to Melvin Sparks (Blue Note Records), George Porter Jr (The Meters) and Art Neville (Neville Brothers, The Meters). As an example of the respect this band commands, Peter Wermelinger - DJ, collector, and author of the crate-diggers' bible The Funky & Groovy Music Lexicon - places the 2001 NMS track 'Turn This Thing Around' in his all-time top-ten tunes, along with the likes of Eddie Harris, Funkadelic, and Herbie Hancock. The New Mastersounds are at the very top of an elite selection of acts that bring the true soul out of funk. The New Mastersounds released their first ever US recorded album in 2011: "Breaks From The Border". It marks a new era in the band's sonic landscape by topping their unique syncopated grooves with group vocal styling. Band tested, fan approved.

"An Introduction To The New Mastersounds Vol. 2" contains their first ever released 45 and signature tune "One Note Brown" as well as some tracks which were unreleased until now. "Can You Get It" is a remix of the "Breaks From The Border" album favourite and works perfectly as a kind NMS theme. "Talk That Talk" and "Wack!" on the other hand hail back to the gritty funk era of the band's early output curated by Keb Darge. This compilation shows the whole funky diversity of a great band that already recorded 11 albums. On "An Introduction To The New Mastersounds Vol.2" you will find heavy grooves galore, cool songwriting, a top notch sound and a natural smartness which is fairly unequalled in the genre. What more can you ask for.

Vinyl Tracklist:
A1 Can You Get It (Remix) B1 One Note Brown
A2 Up In The Air B2 Talk The Talk
A3 King Comforter B3 Wack!
A4 Kuna Matata B4 I Mean It So
A5 The Vandenburg Suite B5 You Got It All
A6 Make Me Proud! B6 Bring It On

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.